Home > Uncategorized > Leaving on a jet plane…

Leaving on a jet plane…

Wow, the day has finally arrived.  For a while I didn’t think it was coming and I had enough time to talk myself out of it and back in to it about 10 different times, but I have my boarding pass in hand, just said goodbye to the family & I am surrounded by lots of strangers.  I better get use to this feeling because I think this may be happening for the next couple of weeks….

When my flight was booked this past Tuesday I realized that I would be flying on Saturday in to Sunday, but with the time difference I will basically skip 12 hours of September 11th as I land in Sydney on Monday morning.  I had mixed emotions upon this realization but in the end it doesn’t matter where we are, or who we’re with but how we deal with the situation at hand.  We will all deal with the anniversary in our own ways and on our own time, and after 10 years we should all know that this is how it should be.

I know I will always remember and never forget that day, no matter where I am, what day it is, or who I’m with.  I would like to thank all those brave men and women who helped that day and since then to help protect this country and the people within.  And I can’t wait to watch the replay of Johnny Franco throwing out the first pitch to Mike Piazza at tomorrow’s game.  I am sure it will be a ball that bounces 3 feet before the plate, but that’s how the Captain amassed over 400 saves in his career (it’s a shame he received less than 5% of the HOF vote this year…robbed)!

Now I know you were all wondering, but yes I managed to have Roll n Roaster as my last meal in Brooklyn today, and it will definitely be in the top 5 things I miss about this great little city.  While Tim Tams and Magnum bars are a plenty Down Under, nothing compares to Cheez on Anything you Please!  Perhaps one of my first initiatives will be to open up a New York themed food stand at the ballpark in Sydney…thoughts???

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 11, 2011 at 1:55 am

    So far it’s great..comments about 9/11 were superb!!!

  2. Bridget Eileen
    September 11, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    Have a safe trip! Can’t wait to follow you through this amazing journey! Xoxoxo

  3. Bridget E Berran
    September 11, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    Love it..LOVE YOU!

  4. Jen Hall
    September 12, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    Love the blog. Rob wants to know how you figured out how to skip winter 🙂 I didn’t notice anything wrong with your grammer. Keep us all updated when you can.

  5. Nora
    September 12, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    I hope your trip was as pleasant as could be and you are not too tired on your first day. We miss you already, but I know you will do great there.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

