Home > Uncategorized > the funny thing about words…

the funny thing about words…

So I have landed safe and sound in Sydney and am currently ready to crash after being up for almost 20 something hours.  Today was a busy day with a trip right to the stadium to get a glimpse of where I will be spending most of my time while in Australia (I will try to take and post pictures soon), which turned in to a 4 hour discussion in pricing structure.  I have to say it was a good first day that allowed me to get a glimpse of the dynamic of my working conditions and I can’t wait to truly get started.

I then got a ride back to St. Ives (a suburb just north of the CBD, Central Business District), where I met the Lockwood family and got a chance to unpack and unwind.  And after a 24 hour trip and a loss of 12 hours I found out that the Mets lost, Serena fell apart (and got beat by an Aussie no less), Cam Newton threw for 420 yards and lost and the Jets had one of their best comebacks ever.  I seriously need to get on a schedule quickly so I can keep up with the US sports world.

I also got a tutorial on the Australian school system and the best piece of advice… to not use the words “root for” while speaking about sports.  Apparently it holds a sexual connotation for the Aussies, so I should not ask someone to root for the Blue Sox, but to instead ask  “who do you cheer for, ” or even better “do you barrack for….?”  Maybe I will play the dumb American part for a few weeks and see what kind of reactions I get with this one.  Apparently “take me out to the ball game” is a hit during the 7th inning stretch with the line “root, root, root, for the home team.”

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Nora
    September 12, 2011 at 6:35 pm

    Interesting. I will have to ask my boss what it means. He’s in London, so I will get back to you. I’m glad you had a safe trip and I’m sure you will be a great fit to the organization. Get some sleep and Good Luck!

  2. Bridget a Berran
    September 12, 2011 at 6:46 pm

    Very funny….I love it!!

  3. Greg Moore
    September 13, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    “Do you barrack for…”? Aussies support Obama then?

    • September 14, 2011 at 4:32 am

      figured you would be the one to comment on that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

