Home > Uncategorized > how hard is this metric system…

how hard is this metric system…

So one of my favorite comedians is Kathleen Madigan.  I first learned about her after watching a season of “Last Comic Standing” on NBC.  She has a dry sense of humor and has some great bits on Catholicism, family, George W. Bush, gambling and another one of my favorites is the metric system.  She starts off the monologue with “the rest of the world is just smarter than us, remember when we tried to start using the metric system in the U.S….they said we were changing in a week, and then Thursday came and no test, no nothing.”  Now I kinda wish they did something because everywhere i look there is something new that I need the conversion app to figure out.

I saw a 5kg bag of ice for $4, and I had no clue if that was a good price or not,  By the way the conversion is 1kg to 2.2lbs, so you tell me if 4 AUD (which is currently $4.13) is a good price for 11lbs of ice. I find that the roads change their speed limit about every kilometer.  They go from 40 in school zones (24mph), to 50 on mid-major roads, to 60 all of a sudden, to 80 to 100 (72mph) in a matter of 4 km (2.7ish miles).  And then the biggest thing is the damn temperature.  It is currently the beginning of spring right now and they started getting excited about it being 30 degrees by the end of the week when it was 21 this evening driving home.  All celsius of course, so just do 30 x 9/5 then add 32, (82 degrees Fahrenheit btw), o and the low is 8 degrees which is yes cold 44 degrees, and the 21 is yes moderate in the 60’s.  And don’t get me started on their gas prices of $1.35 which i thought was great until i found out they were in liters which is about 1/4 of a gallon…it just goes on and on

Yes I like math but this is way too much as I know most of you stopped reading about 3 words in to the above sentence, smart move!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Bridget a Berran
    September 14, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    I think you missed your calling, you should try comedic writing..

  2. Katie Spillane
    September 15, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    Or mathemetician??? Love this blog!

  3. Jen hall
    September 18, 2011 at 12:57 am

    Loved this post. I didnt stop reading. Somehow I see my mom making a math word problem out of that. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

