Home > Uncategorized > new words…

new words…

So i knew the Australians have the accent and everything but I did not know the extent to which I would be unable to understand every 3rd word out of their mouth.  Now I know I mumble from time to time but I would like to think I speak pretty well, but apparently I speak too quickly sometimes and need to slow down.  Sorry I’m a New Yorker, we don’t know how to do that.

But anyway back to the Australians, I’ve been here for almost 5 days and have learned a lot, but the learning curve has been pushed even higher due to the use of “ie or y” on the end of every single word they use.  Apparently there is a fly that is around the ballpark that they refer to as blowy (had to look it up, but it is a blowfly), then i was asked to make an edit on an email I wrote up to explain that the Blue Sox were the “Minor Premiers” of last season (WTH does that mean? – Regular Season Champs).

Then there is the “roost” which means to settle in, yes that makes sense but should humans really roost???  And today I was introduced to an Esky… a cooler, which comes from the Eskimo brand of coolers, and also a softy (mind out of the gutter!, it’s a soda can).

They sure like the “and sometimes y” grammar rule here.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Tracy berran
    September 17, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    That fast talking but be a Berran trait….sometimes I an’t understand a word brian is saying!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

