Home > Uncategorized > Geeked out today…

Geeked out today…

After a couple of weekends of unfriendly weather the sun finally peeked through today (on Bridget’s birthday no less – Happy Bday Bridget!).  I have a few places I still want to get to including Manly, Bondi, the Blue Mountains and Taronga zoo, but I want to wait on some warmer weather for that, so instead I headed in to Chinatown & Paddy’s Market.

Chinatown

Market City & Paddy's Market

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Chinatown-  self-explanatory, but Paddy’s Market is not a place to buy Irish fruit, it is an indoor flea market which is great for picking up souvenirs and cheap nick-nacks.  I didn’t buy much, just some funny Christmas cards (jumping the gun?), but I then checked my Free Map for another idea and I came across the “Powerhouse Museum” which is just around the corner from Paddy’s.  I am usually not one to enjoy museums, but this one was advertising a Harry Potter exhibit!

This was outside! Great marketing!

While the HP exhibit won’t arrive until November 19th, I figured I’d give the place a shot.  It turns out it was pretty interesting as it was a combination of an Air & Space & Engineering museum.  I learned a lot about planes, trains and automobiles.  They had all types of exhibits, including how the first steam engines were made – and helped make carousels, to interactive science displays – btw I still suck at Chemistry – took a quiz on the periodic table and I got a 50%.  It was also very kid friendly as it currently had a Wiggles exhibit, not my favorite but still cute.

 

 

 

It’s called the Powerhouse Museum because it is housed in the Ultimo Power Station, which dates back to 1899 when it was built to power Sydney’s electric tram system.

A view from inside

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well enough of my geekdom, tomorrow I go back to the baseball stadium as we get ready for the season, t- 13 days.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Katie Spillane
    October 11, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    Remember when we ate in an authentic Chinese restaurant with Maggie and Jimmy? I believe we tried pigs ear, and Jimmy ate an egg that had been buried in the ground for a longgggg time. Yikes!

    • October 11, 2011 at 10:10 pm

      ha yes, that place is still there, it’s a Taiwanese place & I love that Jimmy ordered everything for us

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

