Home > Uncategorized > Seamstress…

Seamstress…

On game days my job consists of a lot of different roles as stated in my prior post.  However during the week most of the work I do tends to be either in the marketing, sales or media side of the business.  While I do love what I am doing it unfortunately keeps me at my desk a lot, so every once in a while I try to find something that takes me away from the computer.  Today I jumped at the chance to use one of these:

No it is not a medical device

While I have never sewed a stitch in my lifetime, I have learned how to undo one this weekend with this tool, a seam ripper for those of you who have never came across this object.

In Major League Baseball all uniforms are the property of the league and/or team and therefore nameplates and sewn on and ripped off as soon as a player is acquired or traded in the minor leagues.  Most of the time a player does not take his jersey with him because there is someone else coming to take his spot, so many clubhouse attendants become one with the seam ripper to take the nameplates off.

I did not know this tool existed until Saturday when we had to rip off some nameplates to give to some new players, and it is 10x easier to use then a scissor and way less harmful on the expensive jerseys.  We still have about 15-20 jerseys to work on so I’m thinking I may plan a daytime session starting at 11:05am in the function room (timing of first pitch of game 6).

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Katie Spillane
    October 26, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    Never used a seam ripper?! Such a sheltered life you led in Brooklyn/DE/CA…you’ll be sewing your own uniforms by the end of the season – calling it now!

  2. October 26, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    you missed Philly =) And i highly doubt that because anytime the guys ask me to do something somewhat feminine, such as cleaning, my retort is “why because im a woman?”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

