Home > Uncategorized > Thanksgiving Eve

Thanksgiving Eve

It is currently 10:13 pm on “Thanksgiving Eve” here in Australia and I am headed to bed.  This time last year I just arrived in Salt Lake City, Utah with my mom as we were headed cross-country back from San Diego.  After surviving a scary night driving across the Sierra Nevada’s in to Reno we decided to stop in Salt Lake City and head to Cracker Barrel for Thanksgiving.  After our delicious meal (all under $10 too) we headed off to South Dakota & Mount Rushmore (& Crazy Horse).

So this will be the second year in a row that I will not be out getting drunk with friends old and new.  Or even better waking up in the morning and seeing my hungover sister answer the TV Remote Control thinking it was the cordless phone (still one of my favourite stories which I will share with her children).  And no parade with a large Spongebob or Snoopy Balloon nor Santa at the end of it signalling the beginning of the Christmas season.

However, we had a nice “Thanksgiving” meal this evening with some turkey, mashed potatoes and green beans,.  No cranberry sauce or stuffing but in its own way still very nice.  And tomorrow when I head to work I will not have to pound 10 tylenol to make it through the day, so I guess I am winning in that respect.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Bridget a Berran
    November 23, 2011 at 11:57 am

    It’s nice that you have such fond drunken/ hungover memories of our holiday. I’m glad that you had some turkey, and they are talking about not flying the balloons due to high winds, so you might not miss them.

    I want you to know how thankful I am for you, you are an amazing daughter and friend. 32 days and counting…..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

