Home > Uncategorized > My lack of skills for Press Release writing

My lack of skills for Press Release writing

I really shouldn’t be in charge of writing and distributing Press Releases for anyone let along a professional baseball team.  While I have been kept busy writing my blog I do not consider myself a talented writer, nor do I come even close to being called a writer.  I like math, plain and simple.  I can spend hours doing math problems and would never get bored.

Writing does not come easy to me, but in a front office that consists of 5 people it is a necessary evil that I have to do.  Gaining press in the Sydney market is a struggle, so I need to make the releases simple yet eye-catching.  O yea and they have to use proper grammar, and not just any grammar, Australian grammar – using words such as: keen, reckon, favourite, centre and organisation.  Thankfully Microsoft Word has the language function that I can set to Australian English and then it does a proper spell check for me.  But spell check does not solve all problems.

One of the major problems with the Press Release is the time-sensitive demands.  Mix that with my lack of writing skills and it is cause for disaster.  However as the weeks go by I get a bit more comfortable with it and it is nice to be able to provide content and then see a journalist use it in their stories (in the states we call that plagiarism).

Just gotta add this to the list of things I didn’t expect before coming down here…another resume builder

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Bridget a Berran
    November 29, 2011 at 11:33 am

    Haha, multitalented, and funny too ! I love my genius!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

