Home > Uncategorized > Adventures…

Adventures…

All countries and continents have their “must-see” sights and sounds.  In Sydney it’s the Opera House…check, Harbour Bridge…check, Bondi Beach…check, Manly Beach…check, Blue Mountains..check.  But there is so much more to Australia than Sydney.  I saw Brisbane and some of the Gold Coast while I was here including Surfer’s Paradise, but was never able to make it up to the Great Barrier Reef, one of the 7 Natural Wonders of the World.

This time I have my chance and just booked a day tour to the reef on January 2, 2012.  With my mom headed here in just over 2 weeks (crazy!) we just finalised our travel plans which will begin in Sydney, be in Sydney for New Years, then head up to Cairns on January 1st, down to Fraser Island on the 3rd, and back to Sydney on the 5th for a Twilight Bridge Climb.  It’s going to be a lot, but I can’t wait.

If you have never heard of Fraser Island before you are seriously missing out.    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fraser_island

I made it up there in 2006 with my study abroad group and it was one of the highlights of the trip.  So I knew I had to take my mother back there so she can see it all.

Things on the Sydney adventure are the typical city stuff, the Rocks, Botanical Gardens, Hyde Park, etc.  And then we’ll head out to the Blue Mountains one of the early days which isn’t too far out.  Maybe stop at Featherdale Wildlife Park on the way out so we can hang out with some kangaroos.

Christmas is right around the corner, but I am looking forward to my mom’s visit, as seeing one of the 7 Natural Wonders is a priceless gift for everyone..

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. December 13, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    Is your Mom the 8th wonder of the world??

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

