Home > Uncategorized > It’s been a while…

It’s been a while…

So I just got introduced to a new blog called Ben Does Life: http://bendoeslife.tumblr.com/

It’s basically a guy that changed his life around by running, which I sort of did last year.

This whole move to Australia has certainly screwed that up and I need to stop making excuses and get my ass in gear again.  I just signed up for the St. Patrick’s 8K in Washington D.C. in March 2012 that I did about 2 years ago with my friends Katie & Katie (Bruckner and Woo) and I am determined to beat my previous time by about 7 minutes, which shouldn’t be hard to do given I ran a 10K last June at a faster pace.

I wouldn’t consider myself a runner by any means but it certainly became addicting, and I need & will get back in to it during my time off these next couple of weeks.  There is no reason to not be and hopefully these 2 weeks will be a good start for the rest of my time here.  I need to set a goal for myself and since the move here screwed up my half-marathon plan of 2011 I will definitely do one in 2012 and my main goal is to run a full marathon in 2013 (maybe even 2012 – depending on what country I am in).  Running is really fantastic and I know those of you reading this who aren’t runners may not believe me, but take it from someone who was 50 pounds heavier at this time last year and it can truly change your life.

All I need is a bit of motivation and hopefully Ben’s story is just what I need to get me back on the road…

 

P.S. – the Blue Sox are now in 3rd place after sweeping the Canberra Cavalry in the last home series of 2011.  Now “off” for the rest of 2011, with Christmas, moms arrival, trips to Cairns & Fraser Island all within the next two weeks, can’t wait!

With 7 more days left in 2011, my goal is to run/workout each day….can’t wait for an early morning run on Fraser Island!

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. tracy
    December 23, 2011 at 2:08 pm

    Thst’s amazing Aileen and I know you can do it! Just need a little jump start. Maybe Brian will do it with you and we can all come down. I hope you have a wonderful time with your mom and you truly enjoy yourselves!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

