Home > Uncategorized > One More Sleep

One More Sleep

Until I jet back to the states.  I can’t believe it has been almost 7 months since I came over here, 203 days to be exact.

Back in 2006 when I left Sydney to head back to the University of Delaware for spring semester senior year I said if I had the chance to come back here to work I would.  It has been a crazy ride and am so thankful I had the opportunity to come here again.  There are a number of things I will take from this experience, but most importantly are the connections I have made, and not just on the business side of things.

My host family has been a big reason why I have enjoyed my time here.  Not many people will allow a stranger to stay in their home for a week, let alone 7 months.  It was great to be welcomed in to a family with open arms, it made it easy to get accustom to everything here.

Baseball was the reason I came here and it was a big portion of my stay here.  The ABL was a fantastic way to start my career in baseball, and working at the team level was definitely the right decision (as opposed to the league).  With a front office staff of just 5 people we were all given the freedom to come up with new ideas and run with them.  We succeeded and failed together and lived and learned as well.   I learned from an experienced GM in David Balfour and made some great friends in the meantime.  I would highly recommend this experience to anyone looking to get their foot in the door.

I was asked yesterday by my friend Mike what the highlight of my time here has been, I have quite a few but I named a baseball and a non-baseball one.

The baseball one actually happened during our first home series.  There was a rain delay and the Melbourne Aces had a plane to catch.  They were down by 1 in the top of the 5th inning and tried to stall by playing every trick in the book in order to have the game not count.  Our most experienced pitcher Chris Oxspring was on the mound and was able to get out of the inning and earn the win.  It’s hard to explain, but the atmosphere in the stadium that day was electric as everyone was rooting/barracking against the Melbourne Manager who was playing all these games.

My non-baseball one is probably the trip with my mother up to Fraser Island and the Great Barrier Reef, but the road trip to Adelaide is another one.  While the scenery and serenity of Fraser Island and the Great Barrier Reef was a once-in-a-blue moon opportunity, the road trip was a truly great bonding experience with my co-workers/friends.  A 14-hour middle of the night road trip can either bring the best or the worst of people and we definitely became closer on that trip.  As I learned a bit of over-sharing never hurt anyone =)

And while the weather hasn’t been perfect I did have the opportunity to get these shots and enjoy this scenery:

 

Not a bad place to spend some time.

 

This is not goodbye, just so long for now.  Because I will be back, as I still need to see New Zealand, Perth and the Outback…till next time!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Tracy
    April 3, 2012 at 1:49 am

    Not a bad ride.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

